Monday, 14 December 2015

Four Nigerian Female Scientists Win L'oréal, UNESCO Award

L'Oréal and UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) have honoured 12 female scientists from across Sub-Saharan Africa, among which are four Nigerians, for their work and impact in the scientific field.

The 12 women are recipients of the 2015 L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science (FWIS) Sub-Saharan Africa Regional Fellowships and the four Nigerian scientists are:

-Rasheedat Mahamood - University of Johannesburg, South Africa

-Majidah Hamid-Adiamoh - Medical Research Council Unit, The Gambia and the University of Lagos, Nigeria

-Olubokola Adenubi (Nigeria) - University of Pretoria, South Africa

-Olotu Ifeoluwa (Nigeria) - University of Johannesburg, South Africa

The L'Oréal Corporate Foundation created the For Women in Science programme in partnership with UNESCO in 1998 with the aim of increasing the representation of women in global scientific circles. Since then, more than 2 000 women scientists from across the globe have been distinguished by the L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards or supported in pursuing their careers through the various fellowship programmes. In 2009, two previous FWIS laureates were awarded Nobel Prizes in chemistry and medicine, bearing testimony to the impact of the Foundation's influence on scientific research.

Amazing women!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Aisha Buhari urges doctors to check abuses, exorbitant charges

A post shared by HealthThenMore (HTM) Lifestyle (@htm_lifestyle) on Apr 17, 2018 at 12:12am PDT The wife of the President, Mrs...