Wednesday, 11 November 2015

The New Minister of Health is Professor Isaac Adewole

Today, President Buhari  finally handed the new ministers their portfolios after 5 months of waiting.

He made Professor Isaac Folorunso Adewole, a Consultant and Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at University College Hospital, Ibadan, the new Minister of Health.

Prof. Adewole from Osun State, is also a former Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan and former President of the African Organisation for Research and Training in Cancer.

One of his students in UI during his tenure as VC described him as, "A very nice man."

Hopefully, he'll put an end to the wrangling in the health sector and pay better attention to the welfare of health workers than his predecessor.

The other ministerial appointments are:

Dr. Osagie Ehanire (Edo) - Minister of State, Health.
Dr Osagie Ehanire

Dr. Ibe Kachikwu (Delta state) – State minister for petroleum resources. Buhari remains petroleum minister.

Dr. Chris Ngige (Anambra state) – Minister of Labour and employment.

As I earlier predicted, Dr. Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia state) is the new Minister of Industry and Trade.

Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto state) – State minister for Industry, trade and Investment

James Ocholi (Kogi state) – State minister of Labour and Employment

Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno) –  State Minister for Power, Works and Housing.

Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa state) – State minister for Agriculture and Rural Development.

Claudius Daramola (Ondo state) – State minister of Niger Delta.

Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Nasarawa state) – State minister of Environment.

Engr Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa) – Minister of Water Resources

Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed (Kaduna state) – Minister of State Budget and National Planning.

Pastor Usani Uguru (Cross River) – Minister of Niger Delta.

Aisha Jummai Al-Hassan (Taraba state) – Minister of Women Affairs

Adebayo Shittu (Oyo state) – Minister of Communication.

Lai Mohammed (Kwara state) – Minister of Information

Masur Maman Dan Ali (Zamfara state) – Minister of Defence

Abdulrahaman Danbazau (Kano) – Minister of Interior

Udoma Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom) – Minister for Budget and National Planning

Amina Mohammed (Gombe state) – Minister for Environment

Hadi Sirika (Katsina state) – Minister of Aviation

Solomon Dalong (Plateau state) – Minister for Youth and Sports.

Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers state) – Minister of Transportation

Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi state) – Minister of Science and Technology.

Audu Ogbeh (Benue state) – Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Babatunde Raji Fashola (Lagos state) – Minister of Power,Works & Housing.

Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa state) – Minister of Federal Capital Territory.

Kemi Adeosun (Ogun state) – Minister of Finance.

Abubakar Bawa Bwari (Niger) – Minister of State, Solid Minerals

Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti state) – Minister of Solid Minerals.

Anthony Gozie Anwuka (Imo state) – State minister of Education.

Adamu Adamu (Bauchi state) – Minister of Education.

Khadija Abba Ibrahim (Yobe state) – Minister of State Foreign Affairs.

Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu state) – Minister of foreign affairs

Barrister Abubakar Malami (Kebbi state) – Minister of Justice.

But the appointment of a doctor as the Minister of Health may not go down well with other workers 
in the health sector.

Professor Isaac Adewole

All the same, congratulations to the new ministers.

1 comment:

Can you guess the diagnosis?

This is the Leser-TrĂ©lat sign.  It is defined as the sudden eruption of multiple seborrheic keratoses caused by a malignancy/cancer ...